tattoos tell stories

This is my first post in a while. There have been plenty of things to write about with all the things that have happened in our country in the past year. Instead of just ranting I decided that it would be best to not write at all. I was trying to figure out a reason to start writing again and decided I would do a blog series on my tattoos and their meanings.

I am going to talk about my tattoos in the order that I got them. I will discuss the meaning behind them and the thought process behind getting them. Hopefully you will enjoy these and it will help you understand that every tattoo tells a story.

Some of you reading this are probably thinking about how sinful tattoos are and that it talks about it in Bible. I do not think all tattoos are sinful and I don’t think the Bible says that Christians shouldn’t get tattoos. All of that could be made into another blog, but instead I’ll get on to my first tattoo.

I got my first tattoo when I was 18. It is in a type of Japanese and it means “Fight to the end”. I know it says that because not only have I researched it, but I have had people translate it for me. There are really two stories that make up why I got this tattoo.

The first is the meaning. If you know me or have followed this blog then you know my story. If you are clueless I’ll give you the spark notes version and you can go back and read the blog about my story later. It is the first one I posted. I grew up with divorced parents. Christian school. Always in church. Changed schools in middle school. Started getting picked on. Changed schools again. Became angry with family problems and being picked on. Got depressed. Thought about suicide. God became real to me. Life changed. This tattoo reminds me to never give up. No matter what happens. I need to be sure to fight to the end. Not only for my life, but for things I believe in. Never stop fighting. It’s okay to fail. Never okay to lay down and stop fighting. Life is a struggle and hard sometimes. Fight.

The second story (which to me is just as cool as the first) is about why I got the tattoo in kanji. When I was in middle school and high school there was a guy who helped out at church. His name was Kyle. He was someone I looked up to. He invested in me. Kyle was always there and showed me what it means to “do life” with someone. It isn’t always doing Bible studies and listening to sermons. Sometimes it was going to the mall or throwing raw biscuits at cars (thats another story). Kyle isn’t perfect and wouldn’t claim to be, but he cared. He was one person I know cared during those hard times. Kyle had a kanji tattoo. And since I wanted to be like him thats the language I got. I know it sounds kind of lame, but thats the difference that he made. I am thankful for Kyle and the investment he made in me.

I am thankful for my kanji tattoo and the story it tells. I am thankful for Kyle and his tattoos. I hope to make half the difference he has. I am thankful he showed me how to love God and love people.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

